Schizoaffective Disorder

Standard

When I was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder my heart sank! I didn’t want to have it. It was too close to schizophrenia for me to like it. I see things that aren’t there. And I hear voices that aren’t real. This on top of my bipolar can make life “interesting” to say the least.

Mostly, I hear voices that attack me. Things like: “Go ahead and kill yourself”, “No one loves you.”, “No one needs you around.”, etc. When I get really depressed the voices become angry and try to convince me to kill myself. It’s awful.

I take Zyprexa for my voices and visions. I don’t have them much any more. It’s rare to have a hallucination these days. But still knowing that I have schizoaffective disorder hurts. If you want to know more about this topic…comment and I will write more. 

2 thoughts on “Schizoaffective Disorder

  1. I have never heard of this illness before. I cannot say I know what you are going through but I feel your pain. I know what it is like to be diagnosed with something you do not want. It took me forever to learn that being Bipolar was just another thing on top of everything that makes me who I am. It is a label and nothing more than that. You are who you are do not let anything (disease or otherwise) define you. It will all turn out ok. I promise.

Leave a comment